Best Match Engine?

by dubbed5, Jan 25, 2024

Hi guys. I'm a veteran FM player, having played more than 1000 hours with FM2013.

What I really loved is that I could play ANY style I wanted if I had the right players.

I won leagues with mid-level teams using a very solid 4-1-4-1 formation, with counter or defensive mentality, a very deep defensive line, with no pressing. Most of our matches were like 1-0, 0-0, 2-1, etc. We didn't score much but also rarely conceded; even stronger teams struggled against our defense.

I also had success with slow-tempo, short-passing tiki-taka tactics, getting 65-70% average possession.

Then on other saves, I went full attacking with a 4-2-3-1 formation (2 MC, 3 AMC) and scored the most goals in the league, even though we weren't the strongest team.

After 10 years, I came back to FM, and I'm disgusted by FM2024's match engine. Apparently, nothing works except gegenpressing. Tactical instructions don't make any difference. I can't get results with slow-tempo tiki-taka or catenaccio styles even though I have the right players.

I read about FM-Arena in a Reddit post and found it very useful. Your tactical instructions and attribute testings basically verified what I feel after ~150 hours playing FM2024: most of the tactical instructions don't do anything, except for a few like high tempo and pressing. And most player attributes are meaningless, except for the meta attributes. This game is seriously broken.

As I skipped every FM between 13 and 24, what would you guys say, which one has the best match engine? By "best," I mean the one where I could succeed playing any style of tactic I want, not just high tempo gegenpress.

dubbed5 said: Hi guys. I'm a veteran FM player, having played more than 1000 hours with FM2013.

What I really loved is that I could play ANY style I wanted if I had the right players.